Generations United’s Awards Program

Generations United will be presenting several awards honoring outstanding individuals and best practices in the intergenerational field during the Generations United 19th Global Intergenerational Conference, “Generations Remixed,” June 13-16, 2017 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA.

We are no longer accepting nominations for the 2017 Awards Program.

The following awards will be presented at the conference:

  • Intergenerational Innovation Award

Honors an intergenerational team, organization, or community group that has used an innovative intergenerational approach to create solutions. (Examples might include but are not limited to intergenerational programs, intergenerational coordinators or councils in state or local governments, intentional multigenerational housing, or an older adult and youth partnering in a unique way to address a community problem.)

Click here for guidelines for the Intergenerational Innovation Award.

  • Grandfamilies Award

Honors a relative caregiver or person raised in a grandfamily, a professional, or an organization that has made an outstanding contribution to the field of grandparents and other relatives raising children.

Click here for guidelines for the Grandfamilies Award.

  • Brabazon Award for Evaluation Research

Honors a researcher or team of researchers whose outstanding work has advanced the understanding of intergenerational programming.

Click here for guidelines and criteria for the Brabazon Award for Evaluation Research. Note that this award has special requirements, so please read them carefully before submitting.

  • Leadership Award for Outstanding Support of Intergenerational Programs*

Honors a funder whose support has led to significant advances in the intergenerational field.

  • The Jack Ossofsky Award for Lifetime Achievement in Support of Children, Youth and Older Adults*

Honors the lifetime achievements of an individual whose efforts benefit both the young and the old.  It is a lasting tribute to Jack Ossofsky, who was executive director of the National Council on the Aging, and one of the co-founders and early leaders of Generations United.

*Generations United will not be accepting public nominations for these awards.

Questions? Please contact Adam Otto at